Women’s World Cup 2022: India To face Pakistan on 6th March

The Women’s World Cup 2022 begins on March 4. The first match will be between New Zealand and the West Indies. India’s first game will be against Pakistan. This time, all eight teams will compete in 27 matches.

Women's World Cup 2022
Women's World Cup 2022: India To face Pakistan on 6th March 1

Following that, semi-final matches will be played between the top four teams in the points table, with the final match of the tournament taking place on April 3. All matches will take place in six different cities across New Zealand. The world’s top eight teams will compete in 31 matches at Bay Oval, Hamilton, Christchurch, Wellington, Auckland, and Dunedin.

Read- 10 Women Cricketers Who Became National Crush

All India matches will begin in the afternoon, according to New Zealand time. However, starting at 6.30 a.m. Indian time, you will be able to watch all of the matches on Disney Hotstar and Star Sports network.

The Indian team will return to the tournament with the goal of becoming world champions. Team India has reached the final twice but has yet to win the championship. In 2005, Australia defeated India, and in 2017, England defeated India in final.

Who will host Women’s World Cup 2022?

The world cup was scheduled to take place in 2021 but due to the pandemic it was rescheduled. New Zealand will host all the matches of Women’s World Cup 2022.

Did India women’s cricket team won World Cup?

No, Indian team has never won the Women’s World Cup. However, they have reached finals two times but both the time they lost the match.

Australia has won the tournament six times

The Women’s World Cup has been held 11 times so far. Australia has won the tournament six times, while England has won it four times. New Zealand’s team, on the other hand, has only won once. Aside from these three teams, no other team has ever won this championship. This time, all three teams are strong contenders for the championship.

Indian team

The Indian team for this World Cup has a good mix of young and experienced players. The star player of the team that took India to the final in 2017 is also a part of the Indian team this time.

From Harmanpreet Kaur to captain Mithali Raj and Jhulan Goswami, experienced players are present in the team. Vice captain Harmanpreet has smashed a ton against South Africa in warmup match which marked the explosive middle order batter return to form.

At the same time, young players like Shefali Verma and Richa Ghosh are also part of the team. India has played six matches in New Zealand before the World Cup 2022 and the players have become accustomed to the conditions there.

Double the prize money and the nine-player rule

The prize money for the Women’s World Cup has been doubled this time. The winning team will now receive USD 1.32 million, or Rs 10 crore. This sum was Rs 5 crore in 2017.

At the same time, teams in the World Cup will be able to play with as few as nine players. The ICC enacted this rule in response to the Corona epidemic. If a team does not have a full complement of 11 players, the team may enter the field with only nine players, according to the new rule.

Indian team for Women’s World Cup 2022

Mithali Raj (Captain), Harmanpreet Kaur (Vice-Captain), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Yastika Bhatia, Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh (WK), Sneh Rana, Jhulan Goswami, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Singh Thakur, Tania Bhatia (wicketkeeper), Rajeshwari Gaikwad, Poonam Yadav.

India’s schedule for Women’s World Cup 2022

March 6: India v Pakistan, Bay Oval (6.30 am)
March 10: India v New Zealand, Hamilton (6.30 am)
March 12: India v West Indies, Hamilton (6.30 am)
March 16: India v England, Bay Oval (6.30 am)
March 19: India v Australia, Auckland (6.30 am)
March 22: India vs Bangladesh, Hamilton (6.30 am)
March 28: India v South Africa, Christchurch (6.30 am)

Sharing Is Caring: