Rahul Dravid To Return As Team India Coach

The Indian cricket team will tour Sri Lanka in July. Former India legend Rahul Dravid will take over as Team India coach on the tour. A three-match ODI and a three-match T20 series will be played between India and Sri Lanka.

Rahul Dravid has been go to man for team India when they need someone in emergency be it wicket keeping for team, opening or batting down the order when playing for nation or coaching youngsters to seniors when in trouble.

Has already Coached Team India A and Junior side

The head of the National Cricket Academy (NCA), Rahul Dravid, has coached the Indian Under-19 team, and he is going to rejoin the senior team for a second time. Dravid previously served as the batsman consultant of the Indian team for a tour to England in 2014. India lost the test match series to England by 3-1.

Also read: Asia Cup In Sri Lanka Postponed After IPL

A team official told ANI, “Team India’s coaching staff will be in the UK, and it will be best if Dravid guides them because he has already trained almost all the India ‘A’ players.

The young players will benefit from this initiative. “Dravid served as coach of India-A and India U-19 teams from 2016 to 2019.

Under his guidance, India’s Under-19 team became runners-up in 2016 and champions in 2018. He was named the director of the BCCI’s National Cricket Academy in 2019.

In 2016 India lost to West Indies and the West Indies team won the U19 world cup for the first time. In 2018 Team India beat Australia to become the champion under the captaincy of Pritvi Shaw. Dravid was instrumental in both the occasion.

The Indian team under Virat Kohli will be at England for the preparation of test series against England. Team India is expected to play under the leadership of Shikhar Dhawan or Shreyas Iyer. The team is yet to be announced for the series.

There will be three ODIs played in Sri Lanka. The first match will be played on 13 July, the second on 16 July, and the third match on 19 July.

This will be followed by the three-match T20 series. The first match in the T20 series will be played on July 22, the second match on July 24, and the third match on July 27. All matches will take place at the Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *