Talcher Thermal Power Station to be closed, 20000 people to lose their living

Odiha News: In protest of the closure of the Talcher Thermal Power Station, the Talcher Action Committee, led by MP Mahesh Sahu, continues the railway blockade at the Label Crossing near Ambapal village near the NTPC MGR from 9 AM to 10 AM today. As a result, rail transport from the Talcher coal mine to the NTPC plant has been disrupted by rail.

Similarly, members of the committee sat in front of the Kaniha coal mine. They continued to agitate as the extraction and transportation of coal from the coal mine appeared to have been completely disrupted. BJD media cell coordinator Nirmal Sahu, Sarpanch Dushasan Sahu, Sarpanch Babula Sethi, former Zilla Parishad vice-president Suresh Chandra Dhal, former sarpanch Sunil Pradhan, Nishakar Bishwal, Nishakar Pradhan, Kirtan Sahu, Ranjan Sahu, Tapan Pradhan, and others joined the movement. Supporters of MP Mahesh Sahu.

Also read- State Bank sealed after 7 Covid positives found, lockdown may return

A seven-hour economic blockade has been imposed on National Highway 16 from Pallahada in protest of the thermal power plant’s closure. An eight-hour-long economic blockade was carried out on the National Highway No. 16 in the Pallahadha sub-district under Abhinikant Sahu’s leadership, the host of the committee, from 9 am to 10 am for a long time to demand the reopening of the thermal power plant. The truck was parked on the national highway.

Talcher Thermal Power Station History

In 1964, the then Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru laid the Talcher Thermal Power Station‘s foundation stone. Its first unit was commissioned in 1967, after which its second and third units were commissioned in 1968. At the same time, the fourth unit was commissioned in 1969. Like boiler ESP of these four units, parts were supplied and installed by Babcock & Wilcox Company of USA. And the turbine generator was supplied and installed by GE Company. The cap city of the four units is 60 megawatts. All four units are coal-based power plants.

Talcher Thermal Power Station
Talcher Thermal Power Station to be closed, 20000 people to lose their living 1

These four units are called Stage One, while two units were made in Stage Two, which had a capacity of 110 megawatts. Both these units were built by BHEL and commissioned in 1982 and 1983.

In this way, the total capacity of Talcher Thermal Power Station increased to 460 MW. Till 1995, this power station was the Odisha State Electricity Board Center, but in 1995, the score was sold to NTPC for 356 crores. The biggest motive behind selling it was that NTPC could run it better because the experience of running a power plant NTPC had more than OSEB.

This plant used to take its water from the Brahmani river. Due to the notice of the Environment Department, NTPC has improved its BOP i.e. Balance of Plant many times.

NTPC has closed all these plants on March 31. The reason for this is that this plant is very old, and today, it is almost impossible to get their spare parts. Because of this, the Environment Department has often given notice to NTPC due to the pollution. Then the authority of NTPC finally decided that the plant should be closed.

The closure of this plant will affect the contract laborers, small shopkeepers, contractors and their families working in it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *