IPL schedule announced, the tournament starts on 9th April

Odiha News: The BCCI announced the schedule for the 14th season of the IPL on Sunday. With this, it was also decided that the Indian Premier League 2021 will be held in India only. Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Mumbai, and Kolkata have been selected for the Indian Premier League 2021 to be held. Last year due to the pandemic situation the IPL was played in UAE.

Out of the 56 league matches, Chennai, Mumbai, Kolkata & Bengaluru will host 10 matches each, while Ahmedabad and Delhi will host 8 matches. The starting matches will be played with no spectators, and the IPL committee to decide about allowing spectators in the later stage.

The IPL season will begin in Chennai from April 9, where defending champions Mumbai Indians will face the Royal Challengers Bangalore team. The final match will be held on May 30 in Ahmedabad, the world’s largest cricket stadium. Not only this, but all play-off matches of the tournament will also be played on this ground.

Last year, just before the IPL, due to the Coronavirus havoc, the worldwide chain of lock-downs started, due to which the thirteenth edition of the IPL, due in April, could not be done. Later, BCCI scheduled the 13th edition of IPL to be played in UAE in October-November. There was no audience on the field in the IPL played in the UAE. This may be the last IPL of Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

This was the third time in the history of IPL when IPL was played outside India. In 2009 IPL was played in South Africa, and the first part of IPL was played in UAE in 2014. Both times the IPL was shifted out of the country due to the election, but this time it happened for the first time that the IPL was shifted out of the country for any reason other than the election.

In the 13 IPLs held to date, Mumbai Indians have won the trophy the most 5 times, while Chennai has won the trophy 3 times, Kolkata twice. Rajasthan Royals have won the IPL Trophy once, Deccan Chargers once, and the Sunrisers Hyderabad once.

In this year’s IPL auction, South Africa became the most expensive player in the history of IPL when Rajasthan Royal bought them for 16.25 crores.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *