India and England to lock horn in the third T20I in Ahemadabad

Ahmedabad: India and England will lock horns for the third T20I in the five-match T20 series. All the matches of the T20 series will be played at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. England won the first T20, and in the second T20 Indian team bounced back and won the match chasing the score.

In the first match, England Captain Eon Morgan won the toss and elected to bowl first. Indian team managed just 124 runs in their 20 overs. England team chased down the score with more than four overs to spare and 8 wickets in hand. In the second T20I Indian team bounced back. Indian captain Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to chase. The England team scored 164 runs in their 20 overs quota. England team opener Jason Roy again was the top scorer but missed his second T20I half-century in a row.

Indian team opener KL Rahul scored his consecutive duck in the second T20I. But his partner, debutant Ishan Kishan scored a magnificent half-century with five 4s and four sixes. Indian captain Virat Kohli was instrumental in India’s win; he scored 73 runs and remained not-out. Virat Kohli credited his innings success to his friend and ex-South African cricketer AB De Villers. Surya Kumar Yadav also made his debut in the match but did not get a chance to bat.

Also read- When, Why, And How The Cricket World Cup Started in 1975. Why no one expected it

The first two T20I were played on two different pitches. The pitch for the third one will be red soil, and it may assist spinners more. In a press conference, Virat said that Rohit Sharma is rested for a couple of games, so we may see Rohit Sharma’s comeback into playing 11 in place of KL Rahul.

The match starts at 7 PM Indian standard time and 1.30 PM GMT at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The next three matches will be played in closed doors as no spectators will be allowed inside the stadium because of rising Covid cases in the country. You can watch the live telecast on Star network, Hotstar, and Doordarshan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *